A N N   A R B O R   I S   O V E R R A T E D . (a blog.)

home
archives
contact
about
diaryland
blog
OLDER ENTRIES
November 2003
October 2003
September 2003
August 2003
July 2003
June 2003
May 2003
April 2003
March 2003
February 2003
January 2003
December 2002
November 2002
October 2002
September 2002
August 2002
July 2002
May/June 2002
..
LINKS
Ann Arbor News
Michigan Daily
blog
MICHIGAN BLOGGERS
Vacuum
Polygon, the Dancing Bear
Ice Cream Motor
Mythoslogos
Srah
NOIBLATA
Goodspeed Update
Common Monkeyflower
Shmuel's Soapbox
Day in Review
Steven Cherry
Hillary Blough
Hyaline Skies
Plattitudes

-

about ann arbor is overrated


Nelson Algren once said, "Before you earn the right to rap any sort of joint, you have to love it a little while." This weblog is an attempt to disprove him.

I'm a grad student who's lived in a few different places, and Ann Arbor has always been my least favorite by far. But when I started this blog, I wasn't sure exactly what was wrong with Tree Town. I had a vague feeling of wrongness, but nothing stood out. Questions would arise now and then - why does everything in Kerrytown, the allegedly "hip" part of A2, close before 10? why am I paying higher rent than in Boston? - but they seemed like isolated occurrences. I thought - yes, it's hard to believe - that the problem could even be with me. Fortunately, I have since been disabused of that notion.

I kid because I hate.

And by popular demand, here's the Ann Arbor Is Overrated FAQ. Frequently asked question. Singular.

Q: Why do you live in Ann Arbor if you hate it so much, loser?
A: I am in grad school, and it takes a while to complete.

Note: You may notice that I publish reader correspondence from time to time. However, I print writers' names only with permission.

:: 3 comments so far